Genesis 24 – THE NEVERENDING LOVE STORY – Part 8

Posted: June 23, 2011 in Genesis, Genesis 24

Genesis 24 – THE NEVERENDING LOVE STORY – Part 8

Neverending Love Story

Scientific research – As long as a woman is five years younger than her husband, from the same cultural background, not a divorcee, and more intelligent, then apparently you too can have the perfect marriage (You can prove anything with statistics).

I know, there is no such thing as the perfect marriage but I can’t help but see the mirrored image of my relationship with God in Genesis 24. The love story about Rebekah and Isaac parallels beautifully with my relationship with Him, and although I am not perfect, He is.

As feminine as the image is to be the bride of Christ, I am part of His Church, made up of those people who have given their lives to Christ. Christ is my Lord and Saviour, and I am given the wedding garments of Righteousness, clean and spotless so that I can be presented to Him. He exchanges His righteousness for my sin and I am caught up in a love relationship with Jesus. Ephesians 5:25-27 (NLT) says that Christ loves the church. “He gave up His life for her to make her holy and clean, washed by the cleansing of God’s word. He did this to present her to Himself as a glorious church without a spot or wrinkle or any other blemish. Instead, she will be holy and without fault.” He gave His life to save me so that I may give my life to serve Him.

I can’t help but see that the servant in Genesis is like God’s Holy Spirit, who is sent into the world to seek a bride for Christ. He stops at the well and waits to see if I respond to His promptings. He meets me where I am, in the sphere of my everyday experience.

Rebekah was asked to take a step of faith in marrying a man she had only heard about. My relationship to Christ is dependent on a step of faith that each of us is invited to take, based upon what God has revealed to me about Christ.

Like Rebekah, the relationship I have with Christ involves leaving everything which is a part of my old life behind, separating myself in order to be with Him forever. I die to my old life, pictured in baptism, and live the new life in Christ. Romans 6:1-14 (NLT) says “…our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose its power in our lives. We are no longer slaves to sin… So you also should consider yourselves to be dead to the power of sin and alive to God through Christ Jesus.” We are bought with a price (1 Corinthians 6:20), but loved completely (Romans 8:35-39).

The love story in Genesis 24 ends by saying “Isaac went out to meditate in the field toward evening; and he lifted up his eyes and looked, and saw the camels coming.” (Genesis 24:63)

Isaac obviously had devotional times with God in the evenings, quietimes with God after the working day. I wonder if Isaac was having a quietime the evening that Rebekah had gone to the well to draw water. She had come to get water in the evening at the local well for her family and ended up being the person he was praying for.

When Rebekah sees Isaac at a distance, she asks who he is. She shows her modesty by covering her face when she meets Isaac. She has respect and although she is beautiful she is not showy or boastful. She comes to Isaac with a sense of humility.

When 1 Peter 1:8-9 (NLT) speaks about our relationship with Christ. It says “You love Him even though you have never seen Him. Though you do not see Him now, you trust Him; and you rejoice with a glorious, inexpressible joy. The reward for trusting Him will be the salvation of your souls.” 

Genesis 24:67 (NLT) says that “Isaac brought Rebekah into his mother Sarah’s tent, and she became his wife. He takes Rebekah as his wife and loved her. Nice ending to the story.

Christ also loves me, before I even respond to Him. Galatians 2:20 (NLT) speaks about “trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me” And how I can live with Him forever.

I know, Genesis 24 is a straightforward narrative about how Rebekah came to be Isaac’s wife, but sitting here at my computer at 4.27am in the morning I am reminded of the loving relationship I have with Christ and my prayer is that you would know Him too.

Pastor Ross

Comments
  1. Kathy Bruins says:

    Great read! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

