Matthew 7:7-11 – SYNC IN PROGRESS …

Posted: May 6, 2012 in Matthew, Matthew 7
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Matthew 7:7-11 – SYNC IN PROGRESS …

Sync in Progress

My computer is now IN SYNC with my i-pad 2. My portable Wi-fi is also in sync with all my Wi-fi capable devices. The ongoing cost of all these devices is incredible. I spent $100 in just one month downloading 6 GB of data using my Wi-fi account, thinking it would last a year. Oh, the COST of being in sync!

I’d like to think that my prayers are always in sync with God, but that is not always true. I don’t always get what I want or what I think I need immediately? Why did Phil’s daughter die of cancer, an agonising death, when she was only 6 years old, though a Church load of people prayed? Why wasn’t she healed?

There’s a COST to being in sync with God, and it means that I transfer management rights of my life to Him. It is beyond my ability to see why He does not intervene at times or to see His purpose in everything I pray about, but I have come to trust Him. If I were in charge then … things would be an absolute mess, and so the more I get to know Him the more impact my prayers have to accomplish His purposes on the earth. My responsibility is to pray in sync with Him. His is to answer in His way and with His perfectly co-ordinated timing, according to His Character.

I would not give my grandson a loaded gun just because he asks for it, but when Rome says “I’m hungry” (which is often the first thing that he will say when coming into our house) then he knows that I will feed him. Matthew 7:9 (NLT) says “You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask Him.

1 John 5:14-15 (NLT) speaks of being in sync with God when it says “And we are confident that He hears us whenever we ask for anything that PLEASES Him. And since we know He hears us when we make our requests, we also know that He will give us WHAT WE ASK FOR.” James 4:2-3 (NLT) says – “… Yet you don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. And even when you ask, you don’t get it because YOUR MOTIVES ARE ALL WRONG—you want only what will give you pleasure.”

Matthew 7:11 (NLT) “So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask Him.” NO RELUNCTANCE on God’s side. He is not disinterested and unconcerned. Like a father — He loves and cares for me. He’s NOT DEAF. He hears me. He DOESN’T HESITATE or GIVE GRUDGINGLY. He WON’T REBUKE me for asking (James 1:5).

And His answers are NOT POOR QUALITY. He gives “GOOD GIFTS” (Matthew 7:11). Ephesians 3:20 (NLT) says “Now all glory to God, who is able, through His mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely MORE than we might ask or think.” Matthew 21:22 (NLT) says “You can pray for anything, and if you have FAITH, you will receive it.”

The answer is mine, RIGHT NOW, by faith in God who answers prayer, even BEFORE I see it? The only condition – being IN SYNC with God; operating in unison, in agreement, co-ordinated to harmonise my life with His in such a way that my actions in time, space and purpose produce the maximum impact for Him. He expresses it this way “But if you REMAIN IN ME AND MY WORDS REMAIN IN YOU, you may ask for ANYTHING YOU WANT, and it will be granted!” (John 15:7 NLT).

Elijah called down fire from heaven, and yet Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego were protected from flames. Prayer has parted the Red Sea for Moses, brought down the walls of Jericho for Joshua, brought victory in battle for David, imparted wisdom for Solomon, closed the mouths of lions for Daniel, even extended the hours in the day without the use of daylight savings for someone who I can’t quite remember at the moment – was it Isaiah? Yes, (Isaiah 38:8).

The power of synchronised prayer can cast out demons, heal the sick, raise the dead. It encourages trust, deals with sin, accesses heavens throne-room, and changes my circumstances. It enables me never to give up, to keep on reaching beyond what I can achieve, to keep asking for the impossible, seeking for the unsolvable, and knocking on the doors of heaven for the answers I need on earth. It is the conversation of dependent children with their all-sufficient Father, and that’s when we will see extraordinary things take place in the ordinary everyday situations of life. SYNC IN PROGRESS … !

Pastor Ross

Comments
  1. Liz Mason says:

    There are things that we simply won’t understand until we see Him face to face. In all the years I’ve walked with God one thing I know for sure, His faithfulness and mercy endures forever. Thank you for writing this and sharing the link.

    Like

Leave a Reply

