ISAIAH 49:15-16 – LOVE’S TATTOO

Posted: November 21, 2012 in Isaiah, Isaiah 49
Tags: , , , , ,

In the past I have made judgments about Tattoos and associated those who have made choices to permanently mark their skin as those who don’t really care about themselves. I have discovered, of course, that this is not always true and that some tattoos depict deep care. Certainly Isaiah 49:16 is one such case where God is pictured as wearing a tattoo.

Isaiah 49:15-16 assures me that I am not alone, lost or forgotten. I have not been abandoned by God, no matter how difficult the circumstances I face may be. Jesus reaches out to me in love, to encourage and reassure me with nail-pierced hands. When I think of Christ who bears the marks of the Cross even in His resurrection body, I am drawn to the fact that it was my sin that nailed Him there and because He died for my sin it is my name God engraves, tattooed, permanently inscribed, like nail piercings, on the palms of His hands. What a beautiful, yet sobering picture, when I think of the sacrifice that love bore for me, so that I could be found in the palm of His hand.

God says in Isaiah 49:15-16 (NIV) “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of My hands; …”   

ISAIAH 49:15-16 – LOVE’S TATTOO 

© By Ross Cochrane

They fit on arms of those who care not,
Where they stand out, charmless on harmed flesh.
They threaten to bring painful protests, excess stress,
flayed fresh wounds. You bear them without a thought
and declare other views. You have not sought
to carelessly align with lawlessness,
or wear scars to share as marks of madness,
but bear the healing grace that You profess,

And with all this purpose made permanent,
A name, not picture, is displayed,
And love, not loss, is cut with firm intent,
Inscribed in ink that now will never fade
Upon Your Holy palms with full consent,
And it declares the price that You have paid.

LOVE’S TATTOO

Comments
  1. SteveF says:

    Good Word, P Ross!

    Like

Leave a Reply

