Matthew 17:14-18 – HOW TO SUPPORT SOMEONE WITH A LIFE THREATENING ILLNESS – Revisited

He was having a biopsy on a lump. The doctor was concerned and rightly so. It turned out to be bowel cancer, a devastating discovery and as we walked into my office he asked me for my support in prayer. Of course I prayed, then and most days since, through the biopsies and tests and surgery and soon the Chemotherapy. Many others join us in prayer. He is part of our tribe. We love him.

Image created by Ross Cochrane using Paint.net, Morguefiles.org, and FilterForge.org

Image created by Ross Cochrane using Paint.net, Morguefiles.org, and FilterForge.org

I have been reading an excellent blog recently at http://wp.me/p4V5We-1R called Beautiful Life With Cancer. Have you experienced a life-threatening illness? I would be interested to find out what it was that helped you the most?

HOW DO YOU SUPPORT SOMEONE WITH A LIFE THREATENING ILLNESS?

I wonder what it would be like if I had asked the Father in Mark 9:14 that question as he was trying to find answers for his son. Imagine an interview with him.

We are talking to David today, whose son recently experienced a life-threatening illness. David, thanks for talking with me today. Could you tell us how your son came to find answers?

Certainly. I had heard about a great Physician who was visiting in our area and I went out to meet with Him to see if He could help my son. When we arrived nine of His team had gathered a crowd around them but they were not able to help us, although they tried. They spoke about Jesus and were arguing with some Scribes.

So what Jesus found when He came down the mountain was an ARGUMENT. I don’t know why they were arguing but I do know that it wasn’t helping anyone find healing that morning. In the middle of the argument was my little boy who desperately needed healing physically, emotionally and spiritually.

The negativity of the scribes almost sabotaged the future of my son. He needed people to be PRESENT, but he needed POSITIVE PRESENCE to give him hope. I knew somehow even then that Jesus would …

1. BE PRESENT AND BE POSITIVE

Many say “I’ll be there for you no matter what!” but of course they can not. Jesus keeps His promise – He will never leave us for forsake us (Hebrews 13:5).

When the crowd saw Jesus, they were overwhelmed with awe, and they ran to greet Him. Most people want to get away from NEGATIVE people and this crowd was no exception. They ran to Jesus and away from the Scribes. Would you want people like the Scribes, or someone like Jesus, to speak into your life when you are sick? I know that I wanted Jesus.

“What is all this arguing about?” Jesus asked. In effect Jesus was saying – This isn’t a time for argument. It’s time for COMPASSION. I already knew that Negativity wasn’t going to heal my son.

That’s when I spoke up and said, “Teacher, I brought my son so you could heal him. He is possessed by an evil spirit that won’t let him talk.” My son couldn’t talk. I brought him to Jesus and WAS HIS VOICE when he had none. I verbalised my deepest prayer on my son’s behalf. I knew that I could…

2. BE HIS VOICE BEFORE GOD.

He was not able to pray but I could pray for him. And God helps us in our weakness so we know what God wants us to pray for (Romans 8:26-28).

I described to Jesus the spiritual oppression taking place in my son’s life … whenever this spirit seizes him, it throws him violently to the ground. Then he foams at the mouth and grinds his teeth and becomes rigid. My son was sick physically, emotionally and spiritually. He had a DEMON plaguing his life. His spiritual illness led him to have physical illness.

I was willing to do anything to find him the healing he so desperately needed. I told Jesus how I had gone to His disciples. I said, “I asked your disciples to cast out the evil spirit, but they couldn’t do it.”

The Scribes couldn’t help, but I didn’t give up. The disciples couldn’t help, but I still didn’t give up. Then I finally came to Jesus. He gave me a second opinion and a second chance. Even if you are disappointed with His followers, you can still go directly to Him.

Jesus said, “You faithless people! How long must I be with you? How long must I put up with you?” I don’t think Jesus was talking to the disciples or me when He said “You faithless people”. He was looking at the Scribes. Their NEGATIVITY had created an ATMOSPHERE OF UNBELIEF that had limited the ability of His disciples to heal my boy. Negativity certainly isn’t one of the spiritual gifts. It definitely doesn’t provide the atmosphere for a miracle to take place.

Jesus said “Bring the boy to me.” This was the best choice I have ever made, to

3. INTRODUCE HIM TO CHRIST.

Jesus took my son away from the Scribes and their negativity.

But when the evil spirit saw Jesus, it threw my son into a violent convulsion, and he fell to the ground, writhing and foaming at the mouth. The evil spirit felt comfortable in the negativity of the Scribes and in the middle of an argument, but very uncomfortable in the presence of Jesus. I know now that Sin and evil are always exposed in the presence of Jesus, but so is forgiveness and healing. We can all reach out to Christ.

Jesus asked me “How long has this been happening?” I replied, “Since he was a little boy. The spirit often throws him into the fire or into water, trying to kill him. I described to Jesus what had been HAPPENING IN THE PAST. This spirit was making my son suicidal.

But Jesus shows us that we don’t have to be RULED BY OUR PAST. He gave my son and me a POSITIVE FUTURE.

I said to Jesus “Have mercy on us and help us…” The illness had affected me too, so I said have mercy on US. I know that families with who look after someone who has a life-threatening illness need support too. I strongly identified with my son. I…

4. PUT MYSELF IN HIS SHOES.

I had empathy rather than sympathy. When I brought my son, I also came to Jesus. We both needed spiritual help.

I said “Have mercy on US and help US, if you can.” Jesus asked me “What do you mean, ‘If I can’? Anything is possible if a person believes.”

What Jesus was saying is that MY OUTLOOK IS DETERMINED BY WHAT I’M LOOKING OUT FROM. I had to examine whether my perspective was one of unbelief or faith? I was encouraged to respond in faith so that as I brought my son I could also …

5. ENCOURAGE HIM TO RESPOND IN FAITH

Jesus was NOT AFRAID TO TALK ABOUT FAITH. Jesus changed the atmosphere when He spoke personally to me about faith in Him. He wanted me to CO-OPERATE with Him to get my son healed.

I so much wanted to believe. I cried out, “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!” I had to be honest with Jesus so I admitted I had only a speck of faith and needed help with the rest. We always need to LIFT OUR EXPERIENCE TO THE LEVEL OF OUR BELIEF, rather than bring our faith down to the level of our experience (Brian Houston).

All we need is MUSTARD SEED FAITH in a HUGE God. It’s an active PARTICIPATION with God to grow and be involved in His purposes for our lives.

God is more concerned with the SPIRITUAL sickness of our lives than even physical sicknesses because He wants us to have eternal life. PHYSICAL HEALING IS TEMPORAL. SPIRITUAL HEALING IS ETERNAL.

When Jesus saw that the crowd of onlookers was growing, He rebuked the evil spirit.

He didn’t rebuke me for my lack of faith. He gave me hope.

He didn’t rebuke my son for allowing a demon into his life. He healed him.

He got to the heart of the matter and rebuked the demon and cast it out. When He dealt with the spiritual matter then my son was healed physically and emotionally.

He said “Listen, you spirit that makes this boy unable to hear and speak,” He said. “I command you to come out of this child and never enter him again!” Then the spirit screamed and threw my son into another violent convulsion and left him. My son appeared to be dead. A murmur ran through the crowd as people said, “He’s dead.”

They PRESUMED THE WORST but Jesus taught me to…

6. EXPECT THE BEST.

Jesus took him by the hand and helped him to his feet, and he stood up. Then He gave him back to me.

From that moment on he was well. What an amazing outcome. What an amazing God.

Thanks for sharing your story with us David, but tell me “WHAT ABOUT THOSE WHO ARE NOT HEALED?”

I cannot pretend to know what God is doing when someone is not healed. All I know is that when I pray and support and show compassion in Jesus name I can leave things in God’s hands. I trust Him to know what He’s doing.

I do know one thing. Jesus is interested in HEALING US SPIRITUALLY. That’s the ETERNAL solution. A relationship with Christ. He invites us into relationship with Him.

It the most wonderful thing for my son when Jesus reached down and took hold of him and he opened his eyes. Jesus face was the first person he saw after he was cured. That was life-changing!

Pastor Ross

Leave a Reply

