WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS – Chapter 8

Posted: November 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS

Dagger for When the Wolf Howls

© by Ross Cochrane

Chapter 8

The message that came king David’s court was from Abner and said in essence that Abner, son of Ner, commander of the army of Israel, was willing to make a covenant with David, king of Judah, and effectively hand all Israel over to him. David smiled. This was more than he had expected, but he sent back a message to Ish-bosheth stating that he was unwilling to speak of covenants until certain conditions were met.

“I don’t think that I would want to make friends with a man like that,” said Absalom as he spoke with his father and understood what was happening. “Abner killed Joab’s brother.”

“War is never a pleasant event, my son,” said David, “I lost my friend Jonathan in war just as Joab lost his brother, but if Abner and Ish-bosheth do what I am going to ask them to do then we will have the opportunity for peace at last.” Absalom was not satisfied. He still didn’t like Abner. Joab had painted too clear a picture, but he was intrigued by what David was saying.

“What are you going to ask them to do?”

“You’re always full of questions, aren’t you, my son. All right, I’ll try to explain it to you. It has to do with a girl called Michal. When king Saul was alive, my men and I once killed 200 Philistines for him. The Philistines have always been our enemies. In return, Saul gave me his daughter in marriage. But soon after we were married I had to flee for my life.”

“That’s because Saul was a bad king and he wanted to kill you.”

“Yes, that’s right. Sometimes an evil spirit would come upon Saul and he did things that were quite irrational. God protected me, but I had to move so quickly that I was forced to leave Michal behind. I knew that Saul wouldn’t harm his own daughter. But later, Saul arranged for her to be married to another man. This was a very wrong thing to do, and I have always determined that before I make peace with king Ish-bosheth and with Abner, Michal will have to be returned.”

“But you said she is already married to somebody else. Wouldn’t it be wrong for her to be married to you too?”

“You’re beginning to sound like Abiathar. He keeps telling me that it would be ‘an abomination to the Lord’ if I took back Michal and that it would ‘bring sin on the land which God has given to us as an inheritance,’ but I disagree with him.”

“Why?”

“Well, the holy law says, according to Abiathar, that if a man divorces his wife and she marries again and is then divorced from her second husband, then her original husband cannot take her back. But I think that this situation is a little bit different, don’t you? You see, I didn’t ever divorce Michal. She is still my wife. So I have demanded that my wife is returned before we talk of peace. Do you understand what I’m saying?”

“I think so.” said Absalom, but the intricacies of the law escaped the mind of a six-year-old boy, even though Abiathar the priest was his tutor.

“Do you agree with me?” David knew that it was good for Absalom to think through these issues even though he was still very young.

“I don’t know,” Absalom said slowly. David laughed.

“Well, it’s something for you to think about. There will be many situations that come up in your life that will demand you to make wise decisions. Not all of them are easy, my son. But right now it’s time you made a decision to find your mother and go off to bed.”

A few days later Absalom heard how Michal had been forcibly taken from her new husband. Her husband had followed her, weeping, until he was eventually ordered by Abner to go home.

“No! I don’t agree with you!” Absalom said to himself.

 

Leave a Reply

