WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS – Chapter 29

Posted: January 13, 2016 in When the Wolf Howls
Tags: , , , , ,

WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS

Dagger for When the Wolf Howls

© by Ross Cochrane

Chapter 29

“I have discovered information about a family who have been harbouring one of the immediate relatives of Saul, my lord. What would you have me do?” said Hushai. He was a quiet man and went about his work efficiently. Few people realised that he worked closely with David’s chief advisor, Ahithophel, and fewer still realised that he was David’s foremost intelligence agent. The news from Hushai was quite startling.

“How reliable is this information?” said David.

“It apparently originates from a man we know to have been a previous servant of king Saul.” said Hushai.

“Bring him to me, immediately!”  

For some years, David had conducted a search for the relatives of king Saul, but to no avail. It was presumed that God had wiped Saul’s family name from the face of the earth because of his wickedness.

A small man who reminded David of a weasel was ushered into court and fell prostrate before him.

“Live forever, king David and show mercy to your servant, Ziba.” 

“My servant? That’s strange. I was told that you were a servant of king Saul. Was I misinformed?” 

“No, my lord. I was one of king Saul’s servants, but that was a long time ago and I have been faithful to you for many years. Have mercy, my king.” 

“I understand that you know of someone who is harbouring one of the family members of king Saul. Is this true?”  

So this was the reason I have been called before you. Ziba was not surprised though he thought his tracks had been covered well. How did you find out? I told only my most trusted friends. Which one is the traitor? Pride had demanded that he tell someone. Who leaked this information to the king, of all people? Years of covering up now sagged in his shoulders. What can I tell him? The truth seemed to be his best option if he could minimise his complicity in this matter.”

“Yes, my lord.” he stuttered.

“Who is this person?”

“His name is Mephibosheth, my lord. He is the grandson of king Saul, Jonathan’s son.”

Leave a Reply

