WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS – Chapter 30

Posted: January 15, 2016 in When the Wolf Howls
Tags: , , , , , , ,

WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS

Dagger for When the Wolf Howls

© by Ross Cochrane

CHAPTER 30

“Jonathan’s son?” David was shocked. “Jonathan’s son is still alive!”

“Yes, my lord.” Ziba could see the look on the king’s face and was getting more anxious by the minute. “I had very little to do with this, my lord. I meant no harm.”

“Jonathan’s son?” David repeated.

“Yes, my lord.”

The questions began to tumble from David’s mouth.

Ziba answered them. “He is living at Lo Debar. It was the family of Machir who have harboured him since the death of his father Jonathan and king Saul. I was instructed to keep quiet about what I knew. I had no choice.”

“How did he escape after Saul died?” said David.

“His nurse took him and they fled for their lives. In her hurry to get away the nurse slipped and Mephibosheth fell down an embankment. He survived the fall but he has been crippled in both feet ever since. He was only 5 years old when his father was killed. She took him to the house of Machir and he has kept his identity a secret, not wanting further harm to happen to him.”

“Why wasn’t I told of this?”

“Machir made it very clear to me that if I told anyone, Mephibosheth’s life would be in danger, as well as mine. Please, my lord, I am telling you the truth. Have mercy upon me.”

“Machir was right! Why should I have mercy upon you. It is normal practise to execute the family of a previous king along with anyone else who might cause a problem. Why should it be any different for you or Machir? You have harboured a prince who could have been a threat to my throne? Is there anything else you haven’t told me?”

“There is one more thing you should know, my lord,” Ziba said. He could see that his only hope was to tell David everything and hope for the best.

“And what is that?”

“Mephibosheth married one of Machir’s daughter’s and he has a son named Mica.”

“So, not only does the line of Saul continue but I have another prince to contend with.”

“Sir, Machir’s family have lived under your rule for many years now. I have never heard them speak against you and I have always remained loyal…”

“Enough! You will go with Hushai and bring Mephibosheth to me.” Ziba hesitated, bowed and then headed for the door where Hushai was waiting.

Leave a Reply

