WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS – Chapter 42

Posted: January 27, 2016 in When the Wolf Howls
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

WHEN THE WOLF HOWLS

Dagger for When the Wolf Howls

© by Ross Cochrane

Chapter 42

Absalom was directed to an old man who was instructing Ammonite slaves about kiln making. He seemed very cheerful and pleased to meet Absalom and bowed down with his face to the ground when he realised that he was in the presence of royalty.

“My lord, I am your servant.” said Obed-edom.

“I have been told that you are a Philistine.” said Absalom.

“I was once a Philistine, my lord.” said Obed-edom with a smile on his face. “For many years now I have served your father the king and now I also serve the living God of Israel.”

Absalom ignored the comments and said, “I have something to show you that has the carvings of Canaanite origin. I want you to tell me what it means.”

“I will try to help you in any way that I can, my lord.” said Obed-edom. Absalom directed Obed-edom to move under one of shelters so that no-one else could overhear their conversation or see what they were doing.

He took the dagger from beneath his coat and handed it to the old man. Obed-edom stood transfixed for some time as he looked at the weapon. All the memories of demon gods and talisman came flooding back into his mind. He remembered the day of the birth of this dagger in the kiln of Molech and when he thought of the gruesome child sacrifice, he suddenly dropped the dagger as if it were red hot. Absalom reached for it immediately.

“Be careful, old man. I don’t want it damaged!” said Absalom.

“Why have you brought this weapon to me?” said Obed-edom. His face was white at the shock of seeing the dagger that he had once made. For a fleeting moment he thought perhaps that Absalom intended to punish him in some way.

“I want you to tell me what the images and symbols mean?” said Absalom. He was intrigued at the reaction of the old man. What hidden secrets does this dagger hold?

“You must destroy it immediately!” said Obed-edom, “It can only lead to harm. It came from the fire of Molech and was dedicated to the demon gods. It doesn’t belong here.”

“I’ll decide whether or not to destroy it. But first I want you to tell me all you know about it.” said Absalom, who was beginning to get a little frustrated.

“Yes, my lord. Of course.” said Obed-edom. He was dry in the mouth and needed to lick his lips and swallow several times as he recalled the ancient story, filled with superstition and demonic power to bring harm upon others, that he had heard many times as a child.

“The symbol on the top of the hilt is the Canaanite symbol for the god Molech and the symbol on the sides of the hilt is of the lion and wolf gods. Together they speak of avenging the enemy for the sacrifice of our children. The image that is carved is of the lion and the wolf in mortal combat. It comes from an ancient legend about these two powerful predators.”

“Tell me about this legend.” said Absalom.

Obed-edom tried to regain his composure.

Leave a Reply

